Pot Roast

IMG_5526

I am pretty sure I ate a roast every single Sunday lunch of my childhood life. Even still, when we eat at my mom’s for Sunday lunch, which happens to be almost every single Sunday of my adult life, she cooks a Sunday roast. It’s a stability thing for me now. Just Kidding. Except not really. Mom. Don’t stop! I decided last week that it should be perfectly acceptable to eat a roast on a day of the week other than Sunday. So, I cooked a roast on a Wednesday. Hello weekday roast. Welcome to the rotation.

IMG_5505

IMG_5506

Here’s what I used:

  • Rump Roast (I happened to use a deer roast because I had it in my freezer- if you try this, soak it in saltwater overnight before cooking. This gets rid of the wild game taste.)
  • Two boxes beef broth
  • Onion
  • 5-7 carrots
  • 7-10 Yukon Gold or red potatoes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil or coconut oil

tools:

  • medium-large Dutch oven

Oh, and you’ll need about three hours before time to eat. Set your oven to 325*.

IMG_5508

IMG_5512

First, scrub and chop your vegetables; set aside. I chop my carrots in half. I leave the small potatoes whole, chopping only the largest potatoes into halves. You don’t want them too small since they will be cooking for so long. I just quarter my onion.

IMG_5507

Next, pour two tablespoons of your oil of choice into your dutch oven, on medium-high heat.

IMG_5510

Sear your roast for 2-3 minutes, or until lightly browned on each side.

IMG_5513

IMG_5515

Remove roast, set aside. Pour beef stock into your pot and use a wooden spoon to scrape all of the browned bits of goodness left over from your browned roast into your stock. Your kitchen will start smelling fabulous about now.

IMG_5517

Return roast to the pot, adding veggies also.

IMG_5518

Roast in oven for 3 hours (assuming that your roast is around 3-4lbs.)

IMG_5525

Take your roast out of the oven and transfer meat to a cutting board. Let the roast rest for 20 minutes so that it wont fall apart while slicing. 

That rule tip is from my mom. I adhere to it when the people I’m feeding aren’t sitting at the table or standing around the kitchen staring at me in anticipation. So, like, never.

Slice into pieces of desired thickness and return all pieces to the vegetables and gravy. 

IMG_5526

Serve with rice, or broccoli, or squash, or your family’s favorite veggie.

Mom says you always need to serve a green vegetable.

So I usually do that. Because she says so.

You’re supposed to obey your parents, ya know.

IMG_5529

“Hey Momma!”

“Yum.”

I’ll take that and call it a success.

Here’s to an easy meal for those crazy, busy days!

Happy Monday, everybody!

Love,

Anna

Leave a Reply

