Homemade Bone Broth

I have started making chicken soup about once a week. It’s an easy meal to prepare, it makes a great lunch or dinner meal, it makes enough for left overs, it is best made with leftover chicken (ensuring that I can get use out of the entire whole chicken that I roast each week), and most importantly, I make it that often because my husband asks for it.

The best part of the chicken soup is the HOMEMADE BONE BROTH. The Bone Broth that I am talking about is the broth that our great grandmothers made, years ago, before there was such a thing as boxed broth at Brookshires.

IMG_5491

HOMEMADE BONE BROTH

There are so many health benefits from eating delicious bone broth. It is an immune boosting, gut healing, anti-inflammatory wonder! Perfect for cold and flu season. And there is no store- bought broth (even organic) that is as healthy and beneficial as a broth you make at home. It’s easy! Your home will smell delicious during the process of preparing it, and you will feel like quite the accomplished individual when you’re finished.

Here is what you’ll need:

  • 4 quarts filtered water
  • Around 2 pounds of chicken bones
  • 1 onion
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 2 tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Optional: 2 chicken feet (for extra gelatin and taste)
  • Optional: 1 bunch of parsley and thyme

* I use all organic vegetables and free range chicken bones.*

tools:

  • large stock pot
  • fine mesh strainer
  • storage containers for your broth

I find the hardest part to be collecting enough bones. I store my leftover bones in a bag or tupperware container in the freezer. At our last big family gathering (with grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc.), my mom roasted two whole chickens. It hit me in the middle of our meal that I was sitting in a bone broth ingredient gold mine! I totally unashamedly asked everyone for their chicken bones! So my family was literally throwing their chicken bones in a pile on a plate in the middle of the table. It was a scene straight out of a modern day Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation film. Thanks again, family! I used those bones this week! You can get all weird about the germs from 15 different people’s left over chicken bones, but you boil them for like 1,000 minutes, so I find it to be pretty safe!

IMG_5460

Just dump your chicken bones right into your stock pot.

IMG_5464

Cover with 4 quarts of filtered water.

IMG_5463

Add 2 tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar. (I use Bragg’s Raw, Unfiltered, Organic.) *Don’t omit this step. This helps draw the minerals out of the bones.

IMG_5465

Chop veggies into large pieces and add to pot. (I used a few extra veggies here.)

IMG_5480

Bring to a boil. If any scum rises to the top, simply scrape it off and discard.

IMG_5467

Cover, then simmer on low heat for forever –specifically anywhere from 8-24 hours. The longer you cook your broth, the richer it will be both in taste and healthy minerals, etc. 

IMG_5466

If you (or in my case, my fireman husband who also is also refusing to let me have a space heater again this winter season) feel uncomfortable having your stove on overnight or while you are gone, you can cook your broth in your crockpot. I have done it. Works great!

IMG_5487

When cooked, pour your stock through a FINE MESH strainer into a large bowl (or two).

I don’t have a picture of this step because it was done around midnight when I tend to forget things like snapping pictures for the blog. Oops!

Store in the fridge, cooling until fat rises to the top.

IMG_5488

Simply skim fat off of the top and discard.

IMG_5491

Store in the fridge for up to a week or the freezer for up to 6 months. Or use it immediately to make your family some delicious, flu-busting soup!

Stay warm in this freezing weather, Y’all! And enjoy some soup with your family. They will love you for preparing it for them. I am so sure of it!

Love,

Anna

Leave a Reply

