Chicken Veggie Stir Fry

IMG_5418

Chicken Veggie Stir Fry Over Rice

Level of Difficulty: easy

Prep Time: 10 min.

Cook time: 25 minutes

This is hands down one of my favorite meals. I’m pretty sure my mom made this like every other week when I was a kid. I would watch in anticipation as she chopped each vegetable. Seriously. This dish may be the reason that I enjoy vegetables as an adult. And so, making this dish regularly is one of my plans to force gently teach my kids to love vegetables. It’s so good. Plus, It’s a super easy meal that takes very little time and requires ingredients you probably keep on hand. Can’t beat that!

You will need:

  • 4 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 4-5 Vegetables of your choice I usually use whatever I have on hand. Tonight I used 4 carrots, 2 parsnips, a small crown of broccoli, yellow squash, zucchini squash, and half of an onion. I also love to include bell peppers when I have them, especially a red one.
  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 1 1/2 cup of cooked rice
  • Your favorite Teriyaki marinade. I like La Choy (Gluten Free)
  • salt and pepper

IMG_5400

IMG_5399

IMG_5413

Begin by cooking your chicken in a cast iron skillet. 

IMG_5401   IMG_5402

Melt 1 tbsp. of butter in a large cast iron skillet. Salt and pepper chicken on both sides, sear for 3-4 minutes on each side or until cooked through. When finished, remove from skillet and let cool in a small container. This way, you can pour the juices from the chicken into your cooking veggies.

IMG_5404

While you’re waiting on your chicken to cook, wash thoroughly and chop your veggies to the thickness of your liking. Remember that the chunkier the bite, the longer it will take to cook.

IMG_5405

Once your chicken is removed from the skillet, melt 1 tbsp. of butter in the skillet and then add your vegetables that take longest to cook. I always add my hardest vegetables first, and the onion to make sure that raw onion taste cooks out. After 3-4 minutes, add the remaining veggies. 

IMG_5410

Steamy! And so pretty. The food that God created for us is so colorful.

While your vegetables are softening, take chicken from the container, place on your cutting board and chop into bite size pieces. This is a perfect time to add those juices I was talking about.

IMG_5408

I’m not really sure why there is still a piece of chicken in there for this picture. ? Silly me!

IMG_5409

chop that chicken! 

IMG_5412

Then add it to your vegetables.

IMG_5414

Drizzle a cup (or more if you’d like) of the teriyaki sauce on top.

IMG_5415

Mix well.

And of course, a taste testing opportunity will present itself here. You decide what you want to do with it. I, myself, never miss this kind of opportunity.

IMG_5417

Serve in a pretty bowl over a bed of rice.

Did that sound bossy? It doesn’t actually have to be served in a pretty bowl… it will taste better if you do. Just Sayin’.

IMG_5419

He’s taking the bait.

Hear my voice saying. “Wow, Shep! Look at those yummy vegetables. They are so good for you!”

IMG_5420

Oh yeah, He’s going for it.

IMG_5422

Call it smart. Call it sneaky. You could argue both.

What you can’t argue is how delicious this stir fry is. BECAUSE IT IS SO GOOD. Try it!

IMG_5418

Happy Thursday Before Christmas, Y’all!

Love,

Anna

One thought on “Chicken Veggie Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

