Two Thanksgiving Favorites

These recipes are straight out of the red recipe book my mom hand wrote for me when I got married. What a treasure!

With Thanksgiving less than a week away, I thought I would share two of my favorite, fresh Thanksgiving Day classics. These are two dishes that my mom has made every year since I can remember and they are always gone by the time everyone leaves to go home. Disclaimer: These are not healthy, but are healthier (and much more FRESH, in my opinion) than other traditional thanksgiving dishes. 90/10, people. Keeping it REAL this Holiday season.

Cornbread Dressing.

Would it really be thanksgiving without this dish? I think not! I asked my mom where she got this recipe and she said that she used to watch my great grandmother make it and she just knows it from memory. Over the years she has tweaked some of the ingredients to make it her own. How impressive is that?! It kind of makes me all misty eyed. Is that weird? Probably.

You will need: (keep reading past the cornbread mixture for ingredients)

CORNBREAD MIXTURE:

  • 2 cups of stone ground corn meal
  • 2 cups of Sprouted Wheat Flour
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • ½ tsp of pepper
  • 2 TBSP baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups of milk (buttermilk can be used)
  • 1 melted stick of butter

Add the following to your food processor, then to the cornbread mixture:

  • 1 large yellow onion
  • 1 large Green Bell Pepper
  • 4 ribs of celery

This mixture will fill two 10in. cast iron skillets. Bake at 400* for 25 minutes. When baked and cooled, crumble cornbread into large mixing bowl.

Add the following to the crumbled cornbread:

  • 6-7 slices of sandwich bread torn into small pieces or put in food processor to crumble.
  • 5 eggs
  • 2- 32 oz. cartons of chicken broth (enough to make complete mixture moist, similar to a cake batter but not runny)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Bake in large casserole dish at 350* for 30 minutes. Check for readiness by shaking the pan. (I’m serious. This is straight from my mother) If the casserole doesn’t move, it’s done. If it is still “jiggly”, cook another 10 minutes, check again. Make sure not to overcook, because it will be dry. TIP: the deeper the pan, the longer it takes to cook.

Serve hot with cranberry sauce. Your family will thank you. And you will feel so proud, as you should. And who knows, maybe one day your daughter(s) will blog about your greatness.

Second Dish

And now for my favorite of all time ever, forever, always and forever favorite. What? I don’t know. I am just trying to explain how much I love this dish.

Sweet Potato Casserole

Since I’m a wife and mom now, I am assigned a dish to bring each year to both Thanksgiving and Christmas. This is what I choose to bring every time. Of course! Bringing it yourself is the only true way to MAKE SURE IT IS THERE ON THE TABLE.

Okay, can I just say that I literally remember my mom peeling and dicing and steaming all of those fresh sweet potatoes for this dish? And I loved her more for it. So I wake up early and wash and peel and dice, and steam (or you can bake and hull out the inside) sweet potatoes for this dish for my little family. It’s a beautiful thing!

For the Casserole:

  • 5 cups of sweet potatoes (10 extra large sweet potatoes)
  • 1 cup of sugar (we use Organic Turbinado Sugar)
  • 1 stick of butter (I know, I know…)
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • ½ cup of milk (evaporated is best)

for the topping:

  • 1/3 cup of melted butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • ½ Cup of flour (I honestly think that GF all purpose flour would actually work here)
  • 1 cup of chopped pecans

Preparing the Casserole:

  1. Wash, Peel, and Steam or Boil potatoes (drain excess water off of potatoes before adding to mixing bowl, if boiling)
  2. Once softened, mash with potato masher.
  3. Mix in sugar, butter, eggs, vanilla, and milk.
  4. Put mixture in large baking dish

Preparing the Topping:

  1. Melt butter and mix remaining ingredients in.
  2. Sprinkle on top of potato mixture.
  3. Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.

Everyone will say, “Oh my! This is so good! Who made this?!”. And you can smile proudly because YOU DID!

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, Y’all. We have much to be thankful for.

Love,

Anna

Leave a Reply

