Words of encouragement…from one of THOSE moms

A word of encouragement for anyone thinking about making a lifestyle change in the way of cooking for your family:

Stay with me here.

A few months ago, my sis in law and I were in a conversation with a young mom that was talking about how she had begun to prayerfully consider the things that she fed her children. I’m pretty sure I politely nodded repeatedly, with my eye brows raised and my head tilted to one side. I was thinking, “What did she just say?” I envisioned her literally praying over each meal as she was preparing it for her kids. Not that there would be anything wrong with that, obviously. But I totally labeled her as “one of those moms”. I was a little completely intimidated, and I was totally missing the point. She meant that she wanted to prayerfully consider the choices that she made in feeding her kids: what kinds of foods she would feed them. She wanted to feed them the things that God has created for us to nourish our bodies.

Fast forward a few weeks later. I was looking through a cooking blog that I had recently began following. The woman stated that YOU are the one responsible for the health of your family. God gave them to you and you are the one that will answer to Him for the way that you cared for them. Again, “What did she just say? Isn’t that a little extreme?”

Then it hit me. God has blessed me with my husband and my children, and entrusted me with their well-being. Why wouldn’t he expect me to care for them in the same way that he expects me to take care of my other blessings, but to a much higher degree?

IMG_5288

And why wouldn’t I? I focus so much on the importance of teaching my kids to make good choices in other areas; why wouldn’t I teach them to make good choices in caring for the body that God gave them? I know that it is my responsibility. What I buy and put in the pantry, they will eat. What I cook and set before them, they will eat. I create their habits, especially while they are young. And I want what I do to bless them and honor God.

So, I studied up. And I became “One of those moms”. And I feel such a sense of accomplishment and such a peace about this between me and the Lord.

I have tons more to learn. And it hasn’t all been easy. But, when you know better, you do better. I want to encourage anyone considering making a change in the kitchen for your family’s health to do so without fear.

If you’re interested, I am going to start blogging (in like 10 minutes) about how to plan, purchase, and prepare healthy meals. Please take what you want from it and leave the rest!

God has so richly blessed us in this country with an abundance of healthy, whole foods to NOURISH our families with. Do you know how many mothers across the world would KILL for that?

Let’s learn together and encourage one another!

Love,

Anna

2 thoughts on “Words of encouragement…from one of THOSE moms

  1. Anna well said. I started doing the something several months ago. I love my family and want them all to be healthy and make good choices in their life.

    Like

  2. I am so proud of the Godly woman/niece/mom you have become. This world is a much better place because you are in it. I can’t wait to read your blog and learn from it. Much love from one of your BIGGEST fans…Shug 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

