Quesadillas with Homemade Salsa

Now that school has started back, Mom is super busy teaching. This means I’ll be blogging from my kitchen instead of hers from time to time.

So, I figured that I should introduce you to my kitchen.

IMG_4847

I love my cute little kitchen. And I spend quite a bit of time in this space daily. Just pretend that you don’t see that mound of towels begging to be folded in the corner of my laundry room nook. I’m still learning how to get everything done each day with two kids. Luckily, my husband is a patient man.

Could I fold those towels instead of blogging? Yes. Yes, I could.

But, then I wouldn’t have time to blog. And blogging is so much more fun than folding towels. I promise I’ll get to those real soon.

Right now I want to share Mom’s homemade Salsa, which happens to go great with one of my favorite things: Quesadillas!

Let’s start with the salsa first. This way you will have something to offer the hungry ones in your home when the aroma of your quesadillas cooking lures them into the kitchen.

Salsa:

Prep time: 10 minutes

Difficulty: easy

Here’s what you’ll need: One 28oz can of Whole tomatoes, two colves of garlic, one small bunch of cilantro, one lime, one jalapeño pepper, one small yellow onion, ½ tsp. salt, 1 tsp. sugar, and 1 tsp of cumin.

 IMG_4899

And you’ll need a large food processor or blender. If your food processor is a 10+ cup processor, all of this will fit in at one time! If you have a smaller one, you can puree the tomatoes first, then the other ingredients and mix together.

Pour your tomatoes in your processor. Cut your lime in half and squeeze the juice out on top of the tomatoes- throw remaining lime away. Peel and slice your onion, peel and dice your garlic into just a few pieces, chop your jalapeño pepper (careful not to get too much juice on your hands. It can literally burn your skin!), take half of the bunch of cilantro and chop. Add all of this to your food processor. Add your salt, sugar, and cumin.

Now, put the lid on and Puree! Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes before serving. If your family will allow you to put it in the fridge first, that is.

IMG_4900   IMG_4901    IMG_4902

Beautiful stuff, isn’t it? Delicious, too!

Now, on to your entrée: Quesadillas!

You will need: 4 thin chicken breast, one yellow onion, peppers of your choice (I’m going to use about 6 of these small ones, but two regular sized bell peppers would work just the same), two blocks of cheese (I like cheddar and Monterey Jack best, but you can use whatever you like), tortillas, and butter. Never forget the butter.

 IMG_4904

 Wash, pat dry, and season your chicken with some salt and pepper. Set aside. Notice that I used tenderloins here. It’s what I already had in the freezer. You can really use whatever kid of boneless, skinless chicken that you’ve already got.

Chop your onion. Slice in half from top to bottom, then slice vertically. I like thin slices. Next, slice your peppers. 

 IMG_4909

Melt 2 tbsp. of butter in your skillet on medium high heat. Don’t be afraid of the butter. Butter is good for you. I’m sure of this. Once the butter is melted, and covering the bottom of your skillet, add your onions and peppers. Sauté for about 5 minutes. Remove from Skillet and set aside.

IMG_4913

Now, (after you’ve added another tsp. of butter) add your chicken to the same skillet you just sautéed your peppers in. This will help make your chicken flavorful. I bet your kitchen is smelling really good by now. You will cook chicken for 5 minutes on each side, or until cooked through.

IMG_4917

 While you are waiting for your chicken to cook, you should get to shredding that cheese. If you have a food processor, just attach the food grater tool. If you don’t have this feature, a good old-fashioned hand grater will shred that cheese just fine. I hand grated my cheese until I got a food processor of my own. LIFE CHANGED. For the better!

IMG_4918

You could use pre-shredded cheese, but I think the hand grated cheese melts easier and tastes better.

 IMG_4919

Don’t forget to flip the Chicken! 

When all of your chicken is cooked, slice into strips or pieces, however you like your chicken in a good ol’ quesadilla. Now, you should have everything ready to start assembling.

 IMG_4922

Add a sliver of butter to your skillet. In case you’re wondering what a sliver is, its smaller than a small slice, says my mother. When your sliver melts, place your tortilla in your skillet. Immediately sprinkle a thin layer of cheese on top. Then, add your peppers and chicken. Add another thin layer of cheese, then place another tortilla on top. Just know that you’ll want each layer to be fairly thin so that you won’t have any trouble flipping the quesadilla.

IMG_4957  IMG_4958IMG_4959   IMG_4960

After about 4 minutes, FLIP, doing your best not to loose the inside layers. Cook another 4 minutes or until cheese is completely melted and tortilla is slightly toasted.

Remove from skillet and cut into 4 pieces. I only have two pieces pictured here. This is because I was so eager to devour this meal that I plum forgot to snap the picture.

IMG_4963

 Yes, I served this to my husband on a paper plate. Please don’t tell my mother.

Shep is unable to chew the big pieces of chicken, but he likes to eat whatever we are eating. So, I put a few slices of chicken and peppers into the food processor and pulverized it.

IMG_4920   IMG_4921

IMG_4925    IMG_4926

So, okay, it doesn’t look super delish this way, but I promise that it is so good. Sometimes I do this to mine too. TRY IT!!   Plus, he can usually only eat half of this, so now I have his lunch for tomorrow! SCORE!!

IMG_4930   IMG_4931

Just look at that happy Pooh Bear and that EMPTY plate!

Now, serve these Quesadillas with your homemade salsa and some tortilla chips to the people that you love.

It would help if you remembered to purchase the tortilla chips, unlike me. Oops.

I hope you enjoy!

Love and Blessings,

From my kitchen this time!

One thought on “Quesadillas with Homemade Salsa

  1. The Salsa looks delicious, and I love that your tip of shredding cheese in the food processor! I have been only buying whole cheese not shredded because I learned of all the additives they put in shredded cheese….I love all the ingredients you use!

    Like

Leave a Reply

